Hearty Chopped Salad Guide

IMG_20190218_172907_872

Meal planning is one of the things that make me feel better about Mondays. It’s comforting to know that I have a good lunch and dinner ready for me through the day. So I always make sure to prepare my work lunch on Sunday, if not for the whole week, at least for Monday!

One of my go-tos is a chopped salad. I’ve done so many variations of this through the years. Here are the essential components to make sure it is a success every time:

  • Hearty base: I prefer using grains or pulses as my salad base because they hold so much better than greens and stay fresh for longer. They are also more filling.
    • Bulgur: Toast it with a bit of oil in the pot before adding the water and salt. I use a 1-to-2 ratio of bulgur-to-water. 
    • Freekeh: same as bulgur
    • Brown Rice: I haven’t found the perfect ratio for cooking brown rice yet, I let my husband do it 😉 
    • Couscous: Quickest option – You just need to add hot water to the couscous, cover it and let it sit for 10 mins. I usually follow the packet instructions for the water amount. I recommend also throwing in some lemon peels and salt with the water while the couscous is cooking for extra flavor. 
    • Quinoa: make sure to wash the quinoa well before cooking. I also toast it before adding the water. 
    • Chickpeas: Soak and wash the chickpeas for faster cooking. 
    • Lentils: Use sturdy lentils, like brown lentils, so they don’t get mushy. 

 

  • Veggies and fruits: I like to include different colors, textures and flavors.
    • Carrots: can be cubed or shredded for different textures
    • Onions
    • Cucumbers
    • Sweet peppers
    • Apples
    • Fennel bulb
    • Zucchini
    • Beetroots: best if shredded or julienned
    • Radishes
    • Celery

 

  • Herbs: I feel that herbs really pull the salad together and make it extra flavorful. Do not skip on these!
    • Coriander
    • Parsley
    • Mint
    • Thyme
    • Dill

 

  • Dressing: I like using my creamy version of a vinaigrette for this. You can choose any dressing you like of course, but give this one a try:
    • 1/4 cup Lemon juice
    • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
    • 1 tablespoon Olive Oil 
    • 1 tablespoon Yogurt 
    • Salt and black pepper
    • Crushed garlic (optional – I don’t add it for my work lunches but it would taste great if you’re not worried about your breath!)

IMG_20190311_143816_063

 


Leave a comment