Pasta with Roasted Tomato and Red Pepper Sauce

Whenever I see small tomatoes on the vine at the store, it’s very hard for me to resist buying them. They’re currently out of season, so they’re kind of expensive. I passed by them in the store the first time, went on to buy my other groceries, then came back with a defeated look on my face and filled my bag. 

On my way home, I was plotting my plan for these tomatoes. Roasting! The sweetness that comes out of the tomatoes, with the slightly charred flavor, that tastes so damn good! Not to mention, it gives me great satisfaction to burst the tomatoes open when they become super soft. 

For extra meatiness in the dish, I also decided to add some grilled eggplants, which mu husband and I absolutely love. However, if you’re not a fan of eggplants, feel free to substitute with another vegetable, or leave out completely. 

Pasta with Roasted Tomato and Red Pepper Sauce

Serves 4 

Easy and delicious twist on the classic marinara sauce.

Ingredients:

  • 500g pasta (1 pack) (linguine works best)
  • 500g tomatoes – preferably small and ripe
  • 1 sweet red pepper, diced in big chunks
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1/4 cup cream
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1 onion, finely diced
  • 1 big eggplant
  • Parmesan Cheese for serving
  • Basil or parsley for serving

Method:

Place tomatoes and red pepper in a baking tray with the olive oil and some salt and pepper. Bake at 210C until the sweet peppers are charred, and the tomatoes are very soft, around 20-25 minutes.

Once cooled, place in the bowl of a food processor with the garlic, balsamic vinegar and cream and blend until you get a smooth consistency. If you don’t like having tomato skin in your sauce, you can strain it. Otherwise, the sauce is ready. You can keep it in the fridge to use for later at this stage. 

Cut the eggplant in 1cm slices and grill until soft and cooked through. 

Boil the pasta until al dente. 

In a pot, saute the onion until golden. Add the sauce and the eggplants and the pasta and toss together until combined. 

Serve with grated Parmesan on top and some basil or parsley leaves. 

IMG_20190221_192841_904.jpg


Leave a comment